kelsey’s blah blah blahg

on following through

I’m not one to make new years resolutions, but something I’ve decided to focus on (at least until I get distracted with another personality flaw) is to follow through on things. If a friend recommends a piece of media to check out, I will treat it like an academic assignment with a deadline. If a coworker invites me to a happy hour, I will make myself available in the same way I would for my close friends. When I think about people I don’t respect and don’t want to emulate, recurring traits include incuriosity, isolation, and closed mindedness. Sure, protecting my peace and keeping a reasonable schedule means that I will sometimes need to decline invitations. But to ignore things I wouldn’t ordinarily come across by myself means I’m more like people I don’t want to be.

#goals #introspection